Annual Meeting & Board Nominees Notice


Meeting will be held virtually due to the ongoing pandemic. Logon details will be provided in advance of the meeting, scheduled for Thursday, March 11, 2021 at 6pm .

Credit unions are not-for-profit, member owned co-operatives, governed by a volunteer Board of Directors comprised of members who ensure the credit union is being managed in a sound and secure manner. The Nominating Committee, comprised of three active credit union members appointed by the Board of Directors, has entered the following nominees for consideration to the membership for the 2021 election to fill vacancies on the UT Federal Credit Union Board of Directors:

Charley Deal

Charley Deal is the Vice Chancellor for University Advancement, and the Executive Director of the WestStar Leadership Program, at the University of Tennessee at Martin. He is a 1992 and 1996 graduate from UT Martin and received his Ph.D. from the University of Tennessee, Chattanooga in 2017. Dr. Deal has been a credit union member since 1992. Dr. Deal was named to the UTFCU Supervisory Committee in 2008 and served a one-year term before being elected to the Board of Directors in 2009.

Joan MacLeod Heminway

Professor Heminway serves as Interim Director of the Institute for Professional Leadership, and is a Rick Rose Distinguished Professor of Law, at the University of Tennessee. Professor Heminway brought years of corporate practice experience to the University of Tennessee College of Law when she joined the faculty in 2000. Professor Heminway is a member of the American Law Institute and is a research fellow of the UT Center for Corporate Governance and the UT Center for the Study of Social Justice. She has been a visiting professor at Boston College Law School and at Vanderbilt University Law School and has taught business law courses in study abroad programs in Brazil and England. Professor Heminway is a graduate of Brown University (A.B.) and New York University School of Law (J.D.).

Dylan Jones

Dylan Jones is the Managing Partner at Boldsquare. Mr. Jones has over twenty years’ experience in strategic communications roles at leading global organizations. Prior to founding Boldsquare, he was Chief Communications Officer for Scripps Networks Interactive. He previously held a series of roles in London and New York for EMI Group, one of the world’s leading music and media companies. Mr. Jones also spent time in key roles in Europe with MTV, VH1 and Music Choice, having started his career as a journalist in London. He earned his Bachelor of Arts from the University of Cambridge, England. Mr. Jones was elected to the UTFCU Board of Directors in 2017.

In addition to the slate of nominees filed by the Nominating Committee, members have the opportunity to nominate themselves or another member by submitting a petition bearing the signatures of at least 248 UTFCU members by January 25, 2021. Each nominee by petition must submit a statement of qualifications, biographical data, and a signed statement agreeing to nomination and willingness to serve if elected.

In compliance with UTFCU regulations, no ballots will be mailed. If there is a candidate by petition, a vote will be held at the Annual Meeting. No nominations will be taken from the floor at the meeting. Newly elected members to the Board of Directors will be announced at the Annual Meeting, Thursday, March 11, 2021.

Any questions or inquiries should be directed to 865-971-1971, ext. 144., or

Go to main navigation