Annual Meeting & Board Nominees

Thursday, March 8th, 2018 

Refreshments at 5:30 pm | Meeting at 6 pm | Speaker at 6:30 pm


2100 White Avenue, Knoxville, TN


Credit unions are not-for-profit, member owned co-operatives, governed by a volunteer Board of Directors comprised of members who ensure the credit union is being managed in a sound and secure manner.

The Nominating Committee, comprised of three active credit union members appointed by the Board of Directors, has entered the following nominees for consideration to the membership for the 2018 election to fill vacancies on the UT Federal Credit Union Board of Directors:

Dr. James Brace
Dr. Brace was born and raised in Los Angeles, California and is a graduate of the University of California, Davis, where he earned both a B.S. degree (1967) and a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree (1971). Following graduation, Dr. Brace moved to Boston where he completed an internship and residency in internal medicine and neurology at the Angell Memorial Animal Hospital. From 1974-1978 he taught veterinary medicine at The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine until moving to Knoxville in December of 1978 to assume a teaching position at UTK’s College of Veterinary Medicine. In 2013, Dr. Brace retired from the University of Tennessee where he was the Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs and Professor of Internal Medicine at the College.  Dr. Brace has been a UTFCU member since 1986. He served on the Supervisory Committee from 1990 – 2003, and was Chair for two years. He has served on the Board of Directors since 2003 and has served as Chair since 2011.
 Dr. Charles T. Deal
Charley Deal is the Associate Vice Chancellor for Alumni Relations and Annual Giving and the Executive Director of the WestStar Leadership Program at the University of Tennessee at Martin. He is a 1992 and 1996 graduate from UT Martin and received his Ph.D. from the University of Tennessee, Chattanooga in 2017. Dr. Deal has been a credit union member since 1992. Dr. Deal was named to the UTFCU Supervisory Committee in 2008 and served a one year term before being elected to the Board of Directors in 2009.
Dylan Jones
Dylan Jones serves as the Executive Vice President and Chief Communications Officer for Scripps Networks Interactive. In this role, he is responsible for the development and supervision of strategic, integrated communications programs for Scripps Networks Interactive including reputation management, media relations, investor relations, social responsibility, employee communications, government relations, speakers’ bureau, event marketing and marketing and creative services. Mr. Jones previously held a series of senior communications roles in global organizations including major music company EMI, media businesses MTV, VH1 and Music Choice Europe, as well as setting up his own consultancy. Prior to moving into communications, he was a show business journalist at World Entertainment News Network in London. He earned a Bachelor of Arts in history from the University of Cambridge, UK.
Mr. Jones was elected to the UTFCU Board of Directors in 2017.

The list of nominees was posted in each branch office and on the website at on 12/26/2017.

In addition to the slate of nominees filed by the Nominating Committee, members have the opportunity to nominate themselves or another member by submitting a petition bearing the signatures of at least 225 UTFCU members by January 22, 2018. Each nominee by petition must submit a statement of qualifications, biographical data, and a signed statement agreeing to nomination and willingness to serve if elected.

In compliance with UTFCU regulations, no ballots will be mailed. If there is a candidate by petition, a vote will be held at the Annual Meeting. No nominations will be taken from the floor at the meeting. Newly elected members to the Board of Directors will be announced at the Annual Meeting, Thursday, March 8th, 2018.

Any questions or inquiries should be directed to 865-971-1971, ext. 144.