Annual Meeting & Board Nominees
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Refreshments at 5:30 pm | Business Meeting at 6 pm
2100 White Avenue, Knoxville, TN


Credit unions are not-for-profit, member owned co-operatives, governed by a volunteer Board of Directors comprised of members who ensure the credit union is being managed in a sound and secure manner. The Nominating Committee, comprised of three active credit union members appointed by the Board of Directors, has entered the following nominees for consideration to the membership for the 2020 election to fill vacancies on the UT Federal Credit Union Board of Directors:

Michael Carter
Michael Carter is currently the Assistant Vice President for Advancement Services for the University of Tennessee Foundation. As a member of the Foundation leadership team, Mr. Carter provides strategic vision for systems implementation and advancement services support to the Foundation, UT Alumni Association, and UT System Wide Campuses. Mr. Carter is responsible for all aspects of systems support including Alumni and Donor Information, Business Intelligence, User Services, Enterprise Applications, Online Engagement, and Prospect Management and Research. Prior to his position with the foundation, he spent 12 years with the Office of Information Technology working in various capacities including application development, data quality, and project management. He received both his BS degree cum laude in Management Information Systems and his MBA from Western Carolina University. Mr. Carter has been a UT Federal Credit Union member since 1992 and has served on the UTFCU Supervisory Committee since 2009. Mr. Carter has served as Chair of the Supervisory Committee since 2018.
Trudy Hughs
Ms. Hughs is the Vice President for Regional Advancement for the East Tennessee Foundation. Ms. Hughs currently serves on the East Tennessee Regional Leadership Association Board of Directors and Tennessee Community Services Agency Board of Directors. She is a Past-President and Past-Vice President of the Tennessee Chapter of Child Advocacy Centers. She is a former member of the Tennessee Commission of Children & Youth and is an honorary member of the National Exchange Club. Other prior service includes Kingdom Design Ministries Board of Directors, Blount County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, Knoxville Opera Ball Committee, Starlight Chair for Maryville City Schools Foundation, Advocacy Chair for the Tennessee Junior League, Grantsmanship Chair for the Junior League of Chattanooga, and past President of the Southeast Tennessee Council on Children and Youth. Ms. Hughes is a proud alumnus of 2014 East Tennessee Regional Leadership, 2004 Leadership Blount, 1998 Leadership Chattanooga. Ms. Hughes has served as adjunct faculty with the following education institutions: Maryville College, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, Chattanooga State Technical Community College, and Cleveland State Community College. Ms. Hughes holds degrees in Finance (B.S.), Human Services (B.A.) & Community Counseling (M.Ed.), from University of Tennessee. Ms. Hughs has been a UT Federal Credit Union member since 2019.
Michael (Mike) McNeil
Mike McNeil retired from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville in 2010 after working for 40 years in the information technology area. After retirement, Mr. McNeil has occasionally worked part-time on projects for the University of Tennessee Center for Business and Economic Research as well as lecture for the Accounting and Information Management department of the University of Tennessee. Mr. McNeil served on UTFCU’s Supervisory Committee from 2005 until 2008 and was elected to the Board of Directors in 2008. In 2019, Mr. McNeil attended the Credit Union National Association’s Volunteer Certification. He received his bachelor’s degree from UT Knoxville and has been a member of the credit union since 1989.

The list of nominees was posted in each branch office and on the website at on 12/30/2019. In addition to the slate of nominees filed by the Nominating Committee, members have the opportunity to nominate themselves or another member by submitting a petition bearing the signatures of at least 225 UTFCU members by January 27, 2020. Each nominee by petition must submit a statement of qualifications, biographical data, and a signed statement agreeing to nomination and willingness to serve if elected.

In compliance with UTFCU regulations, no ballots will be mailed. If there is a candidate by petition, a vote will be held at the Annual Meeting. No nominations will be taken from the floor at the meeting. Newly elected members to the Board of Directors will be announced at the Annual Meeting, Thursday, March 12, 2020.

Any questions or inquiries should be directed to 865-971-1971, ext. 144.